Looking back…

One of the things I really love about writing is the journey the writer makes in developing his or her craft. Last night I found a box of my stories from about ten years ago, and I stayed up reading them way past my bedtime! Some of them are BAD – no hope of redemption at all – but some of them have the germ of a great yarn in them. I love seeing how my style has evolved, and how much clearer my voice is, in my current work compared with these early tales.

I’ve put a couple of these ‘found’ stories on my editing pile for a re-write over the next couple of weeks. I think with a little more maturity, and a more seasoned eye, there are definitely stories worth publishing in there. How long since you went back and looked at your early work? It might be an exercise worth doing if you have some time – you never know what gems you might find hidden amongst your earlier rejects!