My excuses this week…

I sometimes find myself amazed at the level of procrastination of which I am capable. I thought that I had procrastination down to a fine art as a veterinary student in the 1990s. I did not. I have now perfected the art, and I will share with you some of my better efforts from the last seven days:

  • Queensland was flooding. I can’t write whilst people’s homes are flooding.
  • My parents have lost electricity at their house (2 suburbs away). I can’t write whilst my parents have no electricity. This one lasted four days.
  • I have no bed. I cannot write whilst my husband and I are sleeping on a mattress on the floor.
  • I need to go to Ikea and purchase a bed. I cannot write whilst I am at Ikea.
  • I need to build the Ikea bed. I cannot write whilst an Ikea bed needs to be built.
  • My day job has no electricity. I cannot write whilst I am on a forced day off from my day job.

You can see some of the depraved depths to which I will sink. I am so ashamed. The worst part of the whole guilty mess is the story opportunities that are now buzzing around in my head.

  • There are ‘flood stories’ of heroism, tragedy and loss
  • There are ‘no electricity for four days’ thriller stories
  • There are too-old-to-do-this humorous ‘sleeping on a mattress on the floor’ stories
  • There are ‘Ikea flooded while I was there and all the brown snakes invaded the store and we were evacuated but I still managed to buy my bed’ quirky horror stories
  • There are ‘husband and wife killed each other in the process of building an Ikea bed’ murder mystery stories
  • There are ‘no electricity veterinary emergency’ animal stories

And they’re just the ones where I don’t have to make stuff up.

I’m an excellent procrastinator.